In need of a 5 year plan…

So the other night at work my boss says “can I see you in my office for a few minutes when you finish that?”… yikes I thought. But really he just wanted to know if I would be interested in submitting an application for one of two RN positions he’s looking to fill. I told him yes indeed I would. I then had a conversation with Hubbin about various life aspects on the phone for 5 minutes then worked the rest of my shift (till 1:30am) and drove home. I’ve decided rather than trying to recapture all the billions of things bouncing around in my head that night I’m going to post the long-winded email I sent to Hubbin when I got home as it will be a far better update on my current life than any other post.

I smooched you when I got home, I don’t know if you remember… you cleared your throat but didn’t move much. ๐Ÿ˜‰
I’m sitting on the floor of the bathroom right now, this may only be a quick email because, well it’s 3am, I got home and finished updating my resume and applied to be an RN in the ER… The starting salary says $20.50 an hour, which will most likely only partially kick in until I’ve passed boards. (A lot of time they start you out as a GN at a slightly lower salary until you’ve passed your boards, and then bump you up when you actually have a license)… I did a lot of thinking on the way home and had a lot of stuff bouncing around in my head, but after all that and looking up stuff about PA applications/dates I’m not sure I remember what all I originally wanted to put in this email.

So the two closest PA programs are A and B. B starts every January and A starts every fall… applications to enroll this fall 2008 were sent LAST may 2007, so applying now I’d really be applying to start in 2009 for either school, maybe even 2010 for B. There’s part of me that’s tempted to apply to everything (PA programs, Masters in Nursing programs) all at once and then just see what happens, but on the car ride home I think I decided I’d really rather do the PA program.

Part of what I don’t think I made clear is about nursing contracts… the issue with this supposed “nursing shortage” is nurses have the ability to job hop right now with little consequence, so what the hospitals have started doing is giving “signing bonuses” if a nurse is willing to sign on for a few years at a time. The consequence of leaving before your contract is up is you have to return your sign on bonus. That’s why as of March 1st Healthcare-Monopoly is getting rid of sign on bonuses because they’ve found it doesn’t really help their retention rate. So the reason there is a little rush to me applying now is if I have any interest in this bonus. Now… my boss didn’t have all the details but thought it was about $4,000 for 2 years. Which if I was already going to try and work for Healthcare-Monopoly for year so I didn’t have to repay my tuition and also get to keep my part of my retirement fund, then another year may be worth it. BUT if I leave after a year it would just mean repaying that… it doesn’t mean you CANT leave.

So if I’m going to get a $4000 sign on bonus, and I’m going to bargain for 2 weeks of vacation this summer, maybe we really could take a 2 week honeymoon? Would an extra $4000 allow us to tack on a flight and a few days in Germany too? Or another city in Italy? I do kind of feel like if I get the sign on bonus I’d like to use it purely for something fun.

Now, I know PA program B has the policy that once you’re admitted you’re -admitted- and you can defer for a year or two years, whatever… I don’t know much about A but I signed up to go to their open house in two weeks. I’ll have a sit down meeting with my mom in the near future about what kind of financial support exactly she’s got from my grandma. I mean I guess in an ideal world taking no time off and going straight into grad school is the best thing to do… but right this minute, I am TOTALLY burnt out. I mean going straight in, which I guess can’t even really happen now cause the deadlines for this fall are already closed, would mean I’d be done sooner and could get on with my life sooner, then I wouldn’t find it so challenging to wait till after grad school to talk about a baby. But if I can’t start till fall of 2009 then that’s 2011-2012? when I’m finishing (it’s a 2-2.5 year program) then I’m 31 when I finish? I know that’s probably the smart thing to do, but that just seems like forever. Plus I just feel like the work + school thing is murder on our marriage. From what I know about PA school it’s going to be just as intense as what’s going on right now… I think both programs have class from like 8a-5p M-F, plus you have all your clinical rotations… It honestly is just like doing the first two years of med-school.

I was discussing with my mom earlier, just cause I was asking her if she thought career wise it was an OK move to take the ER job… essentially cause it’s kind of a cushy nursing job, you’re not always drowning in patients, its short term care blah blah blah… but you also wouldn’t necessarily get all the “skills” you might at another job, which depending on who you talk to may or may not be important… but then on the other hand I also know what I’m getting into, I know the people, I know the system and yadda yadda yadda. Mom was very Pro-ER-job. (I mean if I’m applying to PA school, I don’t necessarily really *need* nursing experience?)

As a side note… MAN it is STORMING outside…. you should HEAR the wind and stuff blowing around!

I just have so much bouncing around in my head right now it’s driving me crazy… pros and cons of every little nuance of every decision for the next 5 years… work, school, family… everything. Alright… so I guess I managed to come up with everything I was thinking of on the drive home, I don’t know how much sense I made though… It’s 3:30 I’m going to FINALLY get my shower and tuck in.

One thought on “In need of a 5 year plan…

  1. I’m “Pro-ER-job,” too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Listen to your mother… and er… your friend, Jen.

    Nah, really, follow your gut instincts. Let the chips fall where they may. It’ll all work out exactly as it should.

    Glad for the update!
    Have a good rest-of-the-week,
    Jen

Leave a Reply

