I’m here!

Wooo! I’m actually posting! I better get on this posting business. I’ve completely been slacking.

So I skipped class tonight. For the first time since nursing school started… Tonight the teachers switched and it’s back to the teacher who reads the power points verbatim. I decided it would be more worthwhile for me to leave class after the test and read the chapters on my own… which of course I didn’t, BUT I did do the dishes and put in a load of laundry. Let me tell you it’s a damn good thing I came home because I completely forgot to put my scrubs in the washer before I left this morning! I would have been going to work all nakey tomorrow. We took that big hodgpodge test today so now I’m anxiously awaiting for them to post our grades. Cross your fingers!

The new job is going well still, I did run into a bossy/cranky LPN over the weekend. I’m going to give her the benefit of the doubt but the more I think back on the various things she said to me the more rude she seems. Most of the nurses are really nice though and seem to genuinely appreciate having me around to do things. (Which in turn makes me offer to do more things for them) I did finally miss in the blood draws. Fortunately the woman prefaced the blood draw by saying “You’re going to have a hard time getting anything out of me because I haven’t had anything to eat or drink today”… I did miss (there was nothing there) but I switched the the other arm and got her right away. Whew. I hope they can’t see me sweating under my scrubs!

We really get the full gamut of patients which is good experience for me. I’ve already learned <u>not</u> to say “I’m here to take your vital signs” and instead come into their room and say I’m going to take their blood pressure and temperature… vital signs apparently sounds very scary to people.

The highlight of the last few days at work was I went to pick up a couple from ultrasound, no one is in the emergency room for good reasons so they were all worried about the fact she was pregnant and cramping/bleeding but I went to pick them up and they were all smiles because not only was everything fine but they found out the sex of the baby 2 weeks before their actual ultrasound appointment. They were PUMPED… SO excited, and it was so cute! (Not everyone coming through is happy to be pregnant)… It was a boy and they were showing me their ultrasound photos of the head and the boy parts and just gushing with happiness (the mom was gloating because she thought it was a boy and the dad thought girl)… It was hard not to smile for the rest of the night.

One thought on “I’m here!

  1. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am smiling too, thinking about the couple who were able to find out the baby was a boy AND alright!

    I just don’t know what to tell you about the bossy/cranky nurse. If you read my last post, I have a similar situation at my work. The tech we have is awesome at her job but really rubs some people the wrong way. Personally, I love her and appreciate her. She makes my job easier. The other nurses like to pick on her and give her only “grunt” work to do, when she is capable of so much more. You have more knowledge, personality, and confidence than the tech I am referring to, so I am sure you will do well.

    That LPN would be kissing your ass, if she was bright. YOU will be HER boss in a short amount of time! ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

