Dust My Puff

I am just so proud of myself right now I can’t help but post. I have been at my current job for almost 3 years. In this time my coworker and I (we have the same start date) have never had an evaluation meeting with our boss and we’ve never had a raise. Twice we’ve received emails from the finance department that they were adding 20 or 40 cents onto our hourly pay due to salary compression. Essentially so that we wouldn’t be making less than new hires. Over the past month my coworker has harrassed my boss enough that she has FINALLY filled out our evaluation papers (which were due in July). The maximum raise they’re allowed to give is 3.5%. So she wrote down we would get 3.5%. My coworker is about to start medschool and is desperate for extra cash so she went in an negotiated us both up to about 4%. Today I had my meeting with my boss about it and I negotiated us both up to 10.5% raises! I think it’s the first time I’ve ever been mature and outgoing enough to do something like that! I’m so proud. I really didn’t have to work that hard either, my boss is totally reasonable. I did it really just through logic and correcting several misconceptions she had.

The first being that the woman in the finance department told her she couldn’t give us more than 3.5% because we’ve been getting raises every year. I explained the difference between salary compression and a raise. Then when we were going over the evaluation I made the comment, “oh well I didn’t really know what to write for that because I’ve never had an evaluation before”. My boss said, “oh really? I thought I’ve done one of these every year” and I assured her that, “No, this is the first time they’ve ever been filled out. She said “And how long have you been here?” I said “It will be 3 years in May” and she said “Wow, ok, so 3 times 3.5% is what, 10.5%”. SWEET! This is going to make such a difference in my salary!!! My boss is very reasonable and my coworker commented that she thinks my boss is a little embarassed. So I’m feeling pretty good right now that even if the finance department tries to stop her she’ll fight to get us a 10.5% raise.

And last but certainly not least, a story from the nursing home…. Last night I was helping a nurse assistant while she was giving some of the oldies bed baths before bedtime. (alliteration alert). I was helping her with one of the elderly women that isn’t very physically able to do things but is doing well cognitively. The NA washed her up and applied some cream and then whipped out a can of babypowder and said “ok, now it’s time to….” waiting for the old woman to fill in the blank and the old woman said “Dust my Puff!”… the NA busted out laughing and the old woman turns to me smiling and says “she just loves it when I say that”… LOL

One thought on “Dust My Puff

Leave a Reply

