Jan 15, 2006

Yesterday around lunchtime my FIL passed away in the hospital. As a tribute today I’m going to plagerize my Husband’s blog entry from last week when he wrote a little tribute to his father: (edited “[ ]”only for anonymity)

1-8-06
Today was the hardest day of my life.

We had to decide to help my father have a comfortable death rather than a painful and likely brief life.  He has suffered bravely through more pain and sickness than any 10 people should have to.  My mother, my wife and I are taking turns being by his bedside and trying to let him know that we are there and we love him. I doubt will be back to work until next week.

The hardest part of having wonderful parents is letting them go.  My dad was one of the best and the world is about to lose a wonderful family man and a great friend.

My dad was born during WWII as the baby of a large family.  He grew up playing baseball in the [city league] and went to [highschool] high school.  He met my mom while she was a senior and they dated all four years of her college studies.  They waited till my mom had tenure before starting their family and when my dad was 40 he became a father.

My dad was a steel worker for 32 years, and proud of it.  When a monument was built to steelworkers in [city], some people were offended that it was called a Millhunk.  My dad was so proud of the work he did, I can remember him being angry that people considered that to be a negative word. 

As a kid my dad always made me feel safe and he always stood up for me.  He was also my toughest critic, seemingly never satisfied with my accomplishments, but always convinced that I had it in me. At times I struggled with his critique but time has helped me to understand that he wanted to prepare me for the harsh world he grew up in.

In the past year my dad has been very ill and thinking more and more about his legacy.  He was able to attend our wedding this July but has been in declining health since.  Many times, while he and my mom were over he told me he’s prould of the man that I’ve become. As I’ve helped put him into his wheelchair and tucked him in at night, he told me last week that I’m a good son. That meant more to me than I can say.

As you leave us dad, know that I will honor your memory and I am grateful to have been your son.  I love you.

4 thoughts on “Jan 15, 2006

  1. Oh, I am sorry.
    What a wonderful tribute to your husband’s father.
    What a blessing that he will suffer no more and that your husband is left with so many warm feelings regarding him.
    With sincere sympathy,
    J

  2. Pingback: For Real We’re Going « Losing my…

Leave a Reply

