Food Thoughts

I have developed a serious addiction to everything bagels from the hospitals gift shop. Passing them up the past few mornings has been very difficult, “oh dearest dehydrated onion flakes how I pine for thee”…. very difficult indeed.

In the never-ending effort to reduce my daily caloric intake I’ve begun experimenting with carnation instant breakfast. For several years in college I routinely drank slim-fast for breakfast (then though it was mostly because I was too lazy to go to the dining hall before class). I however am too proud to carry around cans/boxes of slim-fast now that I can’t discreetly deposit them in my dorm room garbage. Carnation instant breakfast is essentially the same thing with a different package. So far I’ve tried the standard milk preparation this I’d rate as “not bad” but I don’t like milk so I’m biased. I strangely prefer the strawberry flavored one when it’s in milk. Today I tried it in coffee, not quite as good as I had hoped. It’s neither as chocolatey or as sweet as I thought it should be. But as far as breakfast goes it kills two birds with one stone, that can’t be bad right? Yesterday I tried it in vanilla yogurt and let me tell you that chocolate yogurt is a divine creation from the gods. Much to my dismay… a cup of vanilla yogurt with the chocolate instant breakfast mixed in has almost as many calories as my precious everything bagel. “Of course it does”, back to square one.

Tonight *grin* I have a date with cute husband who just called me suggesting we go to Taco Loco for dinner tonight, mmm.